Skip to main content

What is penalty group 1b in Texas?

What is penalty group 1b in Texas?

Penalty Group 1-B consists of fentanyl, alpha-methylfentanyl, and any other derivative of fentanyl. Added by Acts 2021, Texas Acts of the 87th Leg.

What does Poss CS PG 1 1g mean in Texas?

Possession of a Controlled Substance Penalty Group 1
Possession of a Controlled Substance Penalty Group 1. POCS PG 1-A. Possession of a Controlled Substance Penalty Group 1-A. POCS PG 2. Possession of a Controlled Substance Penalty Group 2.

What is penalty Group 2 drugs in Texas?

The drugs in Penalty Group 2 are PCP, MDMA (Ecstasy), hashish and other drugs derived from cannabis. Punishment ranges from two years in jail to a life sentence and a $50,000 fine.

What are the penalty groups in Texas?

Possession of a Controlled Substance Penalty Factors

  • Penalty Group 1:Cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, ketamine,
  • Penalty Group 1-A: Lysergic acid and LSD.
  • Penalty Group 2: Mushrooms and Psilocybin.
  • Penalty Group 3: Anabolic steroids, Xanax, Lorazepam.
  • Penalty Group 4:Compounds with small amounts of codeine or opium.

What are the penalties for drug possession in Texas?

Class A misdemeanor — jail sentences of 180 days to 1 year and/or fines of up to $4,000. State jail felony — jail confinement of 180 days to 2 years and/or fines of up to $10,000. 3rd-degree felony — federal prison sentence of 2 to 10 years and/or fines of up to $10,000.

What is penalty Group 4 drugs in Texas?

Penalty Groups 4 Penalty group 4 includes opioids and opiates not listed in Penalty Group 1, and a range of prescription medications and various chemical compounds that have a potential for abuse. Penalties are similar to those for Penalty Group 3.

What does Texas consider to be a controlled substance?

What Are Controlled Substances Under Texas Law? Also known as CDS, or controlled dangerous substances, these drugs include heroin, cocaine, meth, and marijuana, as well as the compounds used to manufacture narcotics, synthetic steroids, depressants, and stimulants. These are substances with high potential for abuse which may lead to severe psychological or physical dependence.

What are the penalties for possession of marijuana in Texas?

In Texas, possession of up to 2 ounces of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor, which can be punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. House Bill 441, authored by state Rep. Erin Zwiener, D-Driftwood, would reduce possession of 1 ounce or less to a Class C misdemeanor, which carries no jail time.

What penalty group is hydrocodone in Texas?

Under Texas law, hydrocodone is considered a member of penalty group 1. The drugs in this group are the most addictive and therefore carry the stiffest penalties. Other penalty group 1 drugs include codeine, opium derivatives, cocaine, methamphetamine, peyote, psilocybin mushrooms, and ketamine.

What penalty group is marijuana Texas?

There are eight categories for drugs in the state of Texas: PG1, PG1A, PG2, PG2A, PG3, PG4 (“PG” stands for “Penalty Group,” so “PG2” is “Penalty Group 2)” Marijuana, and Dangerous Drugs. SPECIAL NOTE: Controlled substances are not always illegal—some can be prescribed by a doctor but are illegal without a prescription.