Skip to main content

What were the 11 Union states?

What were the 11 Union states?

Order of States Joining the Union

  • Delaware: December 7, 1787.
  • Pennsylvania: December 12, 1787.
  • New Jersey: December 18, 1787.
  • Connecticut: January 9, 1788.
  • Massachusetts: February 6, 1788.
  • Maryland: April 28, 1788.
  • New Hampshire: June 21, 1788.
  • New York: July 26, 1788.

Was Georgia a Confederate state?

Georgia seceded from the Union on January 18, 1861. During the Civil War, almost 100,000 Georgians served in the Confederate armed forces, mostly serving in the armies in Virginia. In Georgia, most of battles were fought in 1864 and 1865, as General Sherman’s army marched to the sea.

Was California part of the Confederacy?

You may not think of California when you think of the Civil War, but the war deeply divided Californians as it did the rest of the country. Secessionists dominated the Southern half of the state, while Northern California remained predominately pro-Union.

Which states are Confederate and which are Union states?

Conversely, some Southern states have observed Confederate holidays since the end of the Civil on the anniversary of Confederate General Joseph Johnson’s surrender to Union General William Sherman in Bennett Place, N.C., the state holiday soon spread

Are there more Union or Confederate States?

The 11 states that seceded from the Union and formed the Confederate States of America were Louisiana, Arkansas, Texas, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Florida, Georgia, Alabama and Tennessee.

What are the 13 Confederate States?

Delaware (ratified the Constitution on December 7,1787)

  • Pennsylvania (ratified the Constitution on December 12,1787)
  • New Jersey (ratified the Constitution on December 18,1787)
  • Georgia (ratified the Constitution on January 2,1788)
  • Connecticut (ratified the Constitution on January 9,1788)
  • Massachusetts (ratified the Constitution on February 6,1788)
  • What were the last States to join the Confederacy?


  • TEXAS.